01 December 2013

PCA to host Vis Pre-Moot in April 2014

On April 7 and 8, 2014, the PCA will host practice moots to prepare students for the Twenty First Annual Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot in Vienna from April 12 to 17, 2014. The practice moots will be held at the PCA’s facilities in the Peace Palace.

Over the two days, each team will have the opportunity to plead twice as Claimant and twice as Respondent. Highly qualified international arbitration specialists from a variety of jurisdictions will serve as arbitrators. At the end of the practice rounds, the teams will be ranked and each team will receive separately the scores of its individual oralists.

In past years, participating universities have included: Aarhus University, Amsterdam University, Catholic University of America, Columbia University, College of Law UAE University, CRFPA de Versailles, École de Formation des Barreaux de la Cour d’Appel de Paris, Elon University, Erasmus University, Federal University of Parana, Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies, Hofstra University, Institut d’Études Politiques de Paris, ILS Law College, King’s College London, Leiden University, Loyola University, McGill University, MGIMO-University (Moscow State Institute of International Relations), Monash University, National University Juridical Sciences, National University of Singapore, São Paulo University, Stockholm University, Tec de Monterry, Universidad Carlos III Madrid, Universidad Panamericana Guadalajara, Universidade Catolica Portuguesa, Université de Paul Cézanne d’Aix-Marseille, Université Paris 1 – Panthéon Sorbonne, University of Buenos Aires, University College of London, University of Cologne, University of Copenhagen, University of Gießen, University of Indonesia, University of Prishtina, University of New South Wales, University of the State of Rio de Janeiro, Utrecht University, and Victoria University (Melbourne).

Teams that would like to participate in the 2014 rounds should submit an expression of interest no later than December 13, 2013, to [email protected]. There are limited spaces available. Teams will be informed by December 18, 2013 as to whether or not they have been selected for participation. There is no registration fee.