08 November 2018

PCA to host Vis Pre-Moot in April 2019

We are pleased to announce that on 8th and 9th April 2019, the PCA will host practice moots to prepare students for the 26th Annual Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot in Vienna (scheduled to take place between 12th and 18th April 2019). The practice moots will be held at the PCA’s facilities in the Peace Palace, The Hague. The PCA is also planning other academic and social events surrounding the Pre-Moot but will provide more information in due course.

Over the two days, each team will have the opportunity to plead twice as Claimant and twice as Respondent. Highly qualified international arbitration specialists from a variety of jurisdictions will serve as arbitrators and provide feedback to the teams. All teams will be scored and ranked and each team will separately receive the scores of its individual oralists. The top three teams will be announced at a final cocktail event.

In past years, participating universities have included: Aarhus University, Allameh Tabataba’i University of Tehran, Amsterdam University, University of Auckland, Catholic University of America, Centro Universitário Curitiba, Columbia University, College of Law UAE University, CRFPA de Versailles, École de Formation des Barreaux de la Cour d’Appel de Paris, Elon University, Erasmus University, Federal University of Parana, Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies, Holy Spirit University of Kaslik, Hofstra University, Institut d’Études Politiques de Paris, ILS Law College (Pune), Jagiellonian University, King’s College London, Leiden University, Loyola University, Maastricht University, McGill University, MGIMO-University (Moscow State Institute of International Relations), Monash University, Monterrey Institute of Technology and Higher Education, National University Juridical Sciences, National University of Singapore, Pontifical Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro, Pontifical Catholic University of Paraná, Queen Mary College University of London, São Paulo University, Stockholm University, The Hague University of Applied Sciences, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Universidad Panamericana Guadalajara, Universidad Católica Nuestra Señora de la Asunción, Universidade Catolica Portuguesa, Universität Passau, Università degli Studi di Milano, Université de Paul Cézanne d’Aix-Marseille, Université Paris 1 – Panthéon Sorbonne, University of Buenos Aires, University College of London, University of Cologne, University of Copenhagen, University of Gießen, University of Indonesia, University of Prishtina, University of New South Wales, University of Notre Dame (Sydney), University of Sheffield, University of the State of Rio de Janeiro, University of Sydney, University of Turku, Utrecht University, and Victoria University (Melbourne).

Teams that would like to participate in the 2019 rounds are invited to submit an expression of interest no later than 14 December 2018, to [email protected]. There are limited spaces available. Teams will be informed by 21 December 2018 whether they have been selected for participation. There is no registration fee.