Chevron Overseas Finance GmbH v. The Republic of the Philippines

The PCA is providing administrative support in this arbitration, which is being conducted under the 1976 Arbitration Rules of the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law pursuant to Article VIII of the Agreement Between the Republic of the Philippines and the Swiss Confederation on the Promotion and Reciprocal Protection of Investments.

Case information

Name(s) of Claimant(s) Chevron Overseas Finance GmbH (Private entity )
Name(s) of Respondent(s) The Republic of the Philippines (State)
Names of Parties -
Case number 2019-25
Administering institution Permanent Court of Arbitration (PCA)
Case status Concluded
Type of case Investment arbitration
Subject matter or economic sector Oil and gas
Procedural rules UNCITRAL Arbitration Rules 1976
Treaty or contract under which proceedings were commenced

Bilateral treaty
Agreement Between the Republic of the Philippines and the Swiss Confederation on the Promotion and Reciprocal Protection of Investments, signed 31 March 1997
Country A: Philippines
Country B: Switzerland

Language of Proceeding English
Seat of Arbitration (by Country) Singapore
Arbitrator(s), Conciliator(s), Other Neutral(s)

Professor Albert Jan van den Berg

Mr. Stanimir A. Alexandrov

Mr. Alexis Mourre 

Representatives of the Claimant(s)

Mr. John Savage QC

King & Spalding UK


Mr. Wade Coriell

Ms. Elodie Dulac

Ms. Anisha Sud

King & Spalding Singapore


Mr. Edward Kehoe

Mr. Aloysius Llamzon

Ms. Elizabeth Silbert

Ms. Sara Burns

King & Spalding LLP US


Mr. Louie T. Ogsimer

Mr. Jomini C. Nazareno

Mr. Dino T. de los Angeles

Romulo Mabanta Buenaventura Sayoc & de los Angeles

Representatives of the Respondent(s)

Solicitor General Jose C. Calida

ASG Marissa B. Dela Cruz-Galandines

ASG Bernard G. Hernandez

ASG Rex Bernardo L. Pascual

ASG Hermes L. Ocampo

ASG Alexander S. Salvador

Ms. Linda Mae C. Aguirre

Mr. Carlos G. Reynes, Jr.

Ms. Karla Monica S. Moraleda-Manabat

Mr. Kristan Carlos M. Cristobal

Mr. Eduardo U. Poquiz, Jr.

Mr. Joel N. Villaseran

Ms. Lorene A. Pe

Mr. Rudy V. Ortea

Mr. Justin Ryan D. Morilla

Ms. Maria Luisa Dominique D. Maurico

Ms. Sang Mee A. Lee

Ms. Joanne Juris L. Berdal

Office of the Solicitor-General

Republic of the Philippines


Mr. Arif Hyder Ali

Ms. Erica Franzetti

Ms. Rose Marie Wong

Ms. Tamar Sarjveladze

Mr. Ahmed Elsisi

Ms. Anna Aviles-Alfaro

Dechert LLP

Representatives of the Parties
Number of Arbitrators in case 3
Date of commencement of proceeding 2019
Date of issue of final award 06 October 2020
Length of Proceedings 1-2 years
Additional notes -