Korea Western Power Company Limited (Republic of Korea) v. The Republic of India

The PCA provides administrative support in this arbitration, which is being conducted under the UNCITRAL Arbitration Rules (as adopted in 1976)

Case information

Name(s) of Claimant(s) Korea Western Power Company Limited (Private entity )
Name(s) of Respondent(s) The Republic of India (State)
Names of Parties

Mr. Vivek Kumar Dewangan

Mr. S.K. Kassi

Ministry of Power


Dr. R.J.R. Kasibhatla

Department of Legal Affairs

Ministry of Law and Justice


Mr. Ashish Chatterjee

Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas


Her Excellency Ms. Reenat Sandhu

Ambassador of India to the Kingdom of the Netherlands

Ms. K.C.SowmyaFirst Secretary (Legal)

Embassy of India


Ms. Reetu Jain

Economic Adviser

Ms. Preeti Jain  


Ms. Supriya Anand

Mr. Shivam Dwivedi

Department of Economic Affairs


Ms. Uma Sekhar

Mr. Shri. Md Noor Rahman Sheikh

Joint Secretary

Mr. George Pothan Poothicote

Legal Consultant

Ministry of External Affairs

Case number 2020-06
Administering institution Permanent Court of Arbitration (PCA)
Case status Pending
Type of case Investment arbitration
Subject matter or economic sector Oil and gas
Procedural rules UNCITRAL Arbitration Rules 1976
Treaty or contract under which proceedings were commenced

Bilateral treaty
Agreement between The Government of the Republic of India and the Government of the Republic of Korea on the Promotion And Protection of Investments signed on 26 February 1996 and entered into force on 7 May 1996
Country A: Korea, Republic of
Country B: India

Language of Proceeding English
Seat of Arbitration (by Country) Singapore
Arbitrator(s), Conciliator(s), Other Neutral(s)

Ms. Jean Kalicki (Presiding Arbitrator)

Prof. Brigitte Stern

Mr. Kaj Hobér

Representatives of the Claimant(s)

Mr. Doo-Sik Kim

Mr. Jae Min Jeon

Mr. Youngwon Yoon

Mr. Rockey Yoo

Mr. Arie Eernisse

Mr. Jae Hee Kim

Mr. Jung Hoon Yang

Shin & Kim


Dr. Rishab Gupta

Twenty Essex


Ms. Shreya Jain

Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas & Co.

Representatives of the Respondent(s)

Mr. Anand S. Pathak

Mr. Nabik Syam

Ms. Ramya Raman

Mr. Surya Kapoor

Ms. Shyra Hoon

Mr. Nav Dhawan


(New Delhi, India)


Mr. Dany Khayat

Mr. José Caicedo

Mr. William Ahern

Ms. Joy Kreidi

Mr. Bastien Tirel

Mr. Aslan Boucobza

Mayer Brown

Representatives of the Parties
Number of Arbitrators in case 3
Date of commencement of proceeding 29 November 2019
Date of issue of final award -
Length of Proceedings Pending
Additional notes -