CC/Devas (Mauritius) Ltd., Telcom Devas Mauritius Limited, and Devas Employees Mauritius Private Limited v. Republic of India

The PCA serves as registry and provides administrative support in this arbitration, which is being conducted under the UNCITRAL Arbitration Rules of 1976.

Case information

Name(s) of Claimant(s) CC/Devas (Mauritius) Ltd (Private entity )
Telcom Devas Mauritius Limited (Private entity )
Devas Employees Mauritius Private Limited (Private entity )
Name(s) of Respondent(s) Republic of India (State)
Names of Parties -
Case number 2022-34
Administering institution Permanent Court of Arbitration (PCA)
Case status Pending
Type of case Investment arbitration
Subject matter or economic sector Telecommunications
Procedural rules UNCITRAL Arbitration Rules 1976
Treaty or contract under which proceedings were commenced -
Language of Proceeding English
Seat of Arbitration (by Country) United Kingdom
Arbitrator(s), Conciliator(s), Other Neutral(s)

Prof. Eduardo Zuleta (Presiding Arbitrator)
Prof. Dr. Stephan Schill
Judge Goda Raghuram

Representatives of the Claimant(s)

Mr. Jim Fleming
Mr. Arun Gupta
Mr. Rajendra Singh
Mr. Serge Martin
Mr. Ramachandran Viswanathan
Mr. Lawrence Babbio

CC/Devas (Mauritius) Ltd,.

Telcom Devas Mauritius Limited

Devas Employees Mauritius Private Limited


Mr. Rahim Moloo
Mr. Matthew D. McGill
Ms. Anne Champion
Ms. Ankita Ritwik
Ms. Alexa Romanelli
Mr. Ben Harris
Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP

Representatives of the Respondent(s)

Her Excellency Ms. Reenat Sandhu, Ambassador of India to the Kingdom of the Netherlands
Ms. K.C. Sowmya, Counsellor (Legal)
Embassy of India, The Hague, The Netherlands


Mr. Abhishek Singh, Joint Secretary (ED)
Mr. Siddharth Malik, Director (ED)
Mr. George Pothan Poothicote, Legal Consultant
Mr. Arpit Mallick, Consultant (Legal)
Ms. Sindhu K Acharya, Consultant (Legal)
Ministry of External Affairs


Smt. Sandhya Venugopal Sharma, Additional Secretary
Dr. M. Subramanyam, Joint Secretary
Mr. M. S. Krishnan, Officer on Special Duty
Department of Space


Ms. Reetu Jain, Economic Adviser, Investment Division
Ms. Supriya Anand, Deputy Director, Investment Division
Department of Economic Affairs


Dr. Niten Chandra, Law Secretary
Dr. Rajiv Mani, Additional Secretary
Dr. R.J.R. Kasibhatla, Additional Legal Adviser
Departament of Legal Affairs


Legal Counsel

Ms. Melanie Van Leeuwen
Mr. Stijn Wilbers
Mr. Oliver Whitehead
Ms. Geertje Foucault
Derains & Gharavi

Representatives of the Parties
Number of Arbitrators in case 3
Date of commencement of proceeding 2022
Date of issue of final award -
Length of Proceedings -
Additional notes -


Written submission
Statement of Claim